Weekly Photo Challenge – Selfie #2

cropped-me.jpgThere are so few photographs of me it is untrue. Some people love to be in front of the camera and I can honestly say that I have never been one of them. I really have no idea why. I literally hide when other people get their cameras out. I am very definitely most comfortable at the other end of the camera capturing a moment for someone else.

The only photographs I like of myself are ones that people have been taken candidly because I can see the person I know is me in them, I can see myself listening ┬áto what was being said or laughing at something that was funny. No matter how crap I look in them I like those photographs. The ones where someone shouted ‘Smile’ and made everyone stand still I cannot bare because I will not fail to look awkward and uncomfortable and like I have 12 chins.

I think this problem has transcended in my own photography journey up to now where I still prefer candid portraits to staged portraits. I am at a crossroads but I know I am not ready for that next step.

 

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Selfie #2

  1. I’m there with you, every time I try a selfie, I end up with either a very grim look or something that looks like a cartoonish attempt at a smile. I also try to hide behind the camera.

    • This is true. I simply cannot see myself the way that others see me so I simply cannot take a photo of myself or pose for one. Maybe this is something I need to work on this year. :-)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | Say It With A Camera

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

