I brought you here. (DP Writing Challenge 11/12/12)

Jumping the Waves

I brought you here. To this crazy world.
You didn’t ask to come.
I forced that choice upon you.
My daughter and my son.

Ready to be a grown up.
Responsible, mature.
To share with you my wisdom,
of all the things I’d learnt before.

Weaning, feeding, burping, hugging.
Wiping away your tears.
Band aids, picnics, bedtime stories.
Banishing your fears.

I brought you here. To this crazy world.
Where you belong, with me.
Mind closed off and blinkered
to all the things I failed to see.

Fighting, cruelty, sadness, murder,
intrusion, fear and rage.
Flooding, earthquakes, despair and hunger,
filling up each page.

Be good – my mother taught me.
Be compassionate and trust.
So mixed with those l encourage you
to know that all things are not just.

I want you to have voices
and minds that are so bold
to see right through the imagery
of the things you’re being told.

The ability to question
to see beyond the written word.
Minds that think much deeper
than the stories you have heard.

I brought you here. To this crazy world.
A lifetime to surmount.
You are here to make a difference.
You are here to make it count.

14 thoughts on “I brought you here. (DP Writing Challenge 11/12/12)

  1. Daughters or sons, I have both, but it really makes no difference, before I had children and having been to combat, and seeing the worst of human nature, I almost swore off complete ever having children to bring up in this screwy mixed up mess of a world we call home. But like you my hope is that they learn from my mistakes, they learn from their own, and they take off the rose colored glasses and look at things for what they are. Ask questions and Ask again. Respect but only if earned, trust but clarify. Thank you for sharing.

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

