Picture 6 of 365 – Cobbled together

DSC_0158web

Oh I really struggled with it today and it is only day 6! I have committed to taking a new photograph everyday for this challenge and I was just feeling totally uninspired today. It is the day before the kids go back to school so needed to get all their stuff sorted out. We did go out earlier but only into town and even though I had my camera with me I also had a load of shopping and two squabbling and over tired children which did not get my creative juices flowing.

So time was ticking on this evening, I was getting tired and I just cobbled this together from some black and white marbled stones that the kids and I collect from the beach.  We don’t take much off the beach just the odd lovely stone that we come across. I think this challenge is going to be more difficult than I thought. On days like this when I really probably just would not have got the camera out at all trying to engage my brain when I am not in the mood I realise is going to possibly be a little stressful.

I am going to try to carry on with the one photo a day challenge but if I decide at any point not to do it for the full year it will only because I don’t want anything to take the fun out of photography for me.

Having said all that, this photograph has been a really good learning curve for me. I don’t shoot much still life and part of this challenge for me is to try new things. After I took it and uploaded it I sat and looked at it for a while and decided that I could have made some subtle changes to the composition and shot it a lot better. The concept of it was a black and white photograph of a black and white object against a black and white background. I was going for different contrasts of the same colour. If I shoot this again (which I will at some point to see if I can improve it) I would keep the background in focus. Straighten the horizon where the black and white background meet as it is sloped and have where the black changes to the white background exactly half way down the image so that the line crosses through the white stone in the middle.  I think those subtle changes could have made for a more striking image.

So from feeling stressed I have realised that I have learnt a lot from doing something quickly at the last-minute. Those images will always teach me something.

“I know not how I may seem to others, but to myself I am but a small child wandering upon the vast shores of knowledge, every now and then finding a small bright pebble to content myself with” – Plato

7 thoughts on “Picture 6 of 365 – Cobbled together

  1. It doesn’t sound like it but it’s a lot of work to take a decent photo every day. I’m doing the challenge too but I probably won’t post on a daily basis. And I’m mostly posting the photos on my Facebook page and the Project 365 – 2013 FB page, so I don’t feel forced to write a new post every single day.

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

