Brownie.

DSC_0342 Named

 

A friend of mine has been doing the 365 photo challenge with me and the other week he posted a photograph of his vintage Brownie camera. I loved the photograph so much that I pretty much decided there and then that I was going to start finding and collecting vintage cameras.

This my first find. A Kodak Brownie 127. I do want to get some black and white film for it and actually give it a go. I would just love to see how the photographs come out.

I am always in the charity shops looking to see if they have any interesting nik-naks on their shelves that I can buy to photograph. Sometimes I find something really good but mostly I end up chatting to the staff for the longest time. One of the shops is my favorite because the gentleman who works there loves to chat about photography so on my days off I can while away a good hour browsing the shop and chit chatting with him.

He knows that I want to collect old cameras and very kindly offered to put any that come in to one side until I get in. I was very touched by this and am really excited about what I might find, I will be paying them a visit next week so fingers crossed.

This little camera cost me 4 quid. Not bad for such a lovely thing and honestly I won’t lie when I say when I opened it up there was a huge part of me that wanted to find film in it that had been used. Can you imagine how amazing that would be! Alas, it did not. I can’t help wondering who the camera belonged to, when they bought it and what photographs they took with it.

So onward with my vintage camera search, I will of course be posting photographs of any others that I stumble across along the way. This one will be special though because it was the first one that I found.

.

13 thoughts on “Brownie.

  1. A lovely find, and a brilliant picture of it too! Charity shops are fascinating, but in recent years I’ve trucking stuff to the charity shop, not home again! I took a great heavy 3 volumes of 70’s photography magazines in binders to a charity shop recently. I had bought them for a £1 each in a car boot sale in the 80’s, and I thought it was time they had a new home. Feeling a little embarrassed when I lifted them out of my suitcase, I sort of apologised for loading them up with something so bulky! But the the woman in the shop was really pleased and said “Oh – we get people asking for stuff like that all the time, we will have no trouble selling those!” Perhaps I should have sold them myself on Ebay, but I dread to think what the postage would have been! 😀

    • Oh yes, I would have bought them Suzi! I have found some lovely photography books in Charity shops. It would be too easy for me to find these kind of things on ebay, I like finding them off the cuff it is so exciting. I am so sad, a lost cause lol.

    • Thank you. Charity/thrift shops are wonderful for finding items. I have decided on trying to find old watches also, particularly pocket watches as they are great objects to photograph too. I like the idea of finding old things that have a past. Lots of times you don’t find anything but it is worth keep going in as much as you can just to happen upon that ‘one thing’ you know will photograph well. I am looking forward to seeing what you find Bella. 🙂

  2. I have an old camera indoors that was my Dad’s, I think there has been some film in it for the last 4 or 5 years that has only had about 6 frames taken. I may try and grab some pictures of that tonight and post it up. Me and some friends went to Nunhead cemetery some time back and he has one of those old large format cameras, we all took a pic with it, although I don’t think I can attach it to a comment.

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

