Blackpool at night in a positive light. And things get a little bit ghostly. First collection.

Grand Theater.

47/365 – Grand Theater.

I have mentioned before that I am going to take photographs of where I live and show it in a positive way because this town can get bad press.

For me there is something about the place that when you actually live here it just gets under your skin. My creative side has gone into overdrive since I have been here.

There is so much history in the place that you can almost feel it taking you back in time. Last night I was lucky enough to go onto North Pier at night with my friend Joolz who is a Photographer and local historian. The pier was opened in 1863 and is the oldest of the three Blackpool piers. It is a great pier to visit during the day but there was something about being there at night, with no other people that gives it a completely different atmosphere.

I was also lucky enough to go inside North Pier Theater at night while it was closed and I was extremely spooked as the place is supposed to be haunted and a few of odd things happened whilst we were there. Now I am quite a realist and I am the kind of person who will try to find a reason why something can happen and try to explain supernatural events away but even I couldn’t really with these.

Firstly one of the seats in the theater is supposed to be haunted by a Victorian lady. When we were walking down the aisle it became apparent that every single seat in the theater was up, except for that seat. That seat was down. Nobody had been into the theater before us so there was no explaining that one really.

The other strange thing that happened was that as Joolz and I were taking photographs of the stage both our camera’s failed us at exactly the same time and would not fire a single shot of the stage for a good 10 minutes. It didn’t matter what settings we used, and what part of the stage we focused on (we even resorting to putting the setting to automatic at one point) neither camera would fire with or without flash. It wasn’t particularly dark and we had both been taking photographs in much more testing light settings before hand.

If we focused on something other than the stage the cameras fired off perfectly well, but the minute we focused back to the stage they simply would not fire a shot. I think I managed one shot of the stage in the whole time I was there and I have to say, it appears to have a cat in it (see if you can spot it) which brings me to the next strange thing that happened.

When we were back on the pier we were both crouched down taking photographs towards the end of the pier and in my peripheral vision a black cat appeared to run past, very close to me towards where we were taking photographs. I couldn’t see it in my view finder and lowered the camera immediately expecting to see it running up the pier but there was absolutely nothing there. It was at that point that I decided I wanted to leave!

Here is a collection of some photographs from our ghostly walk last night.

The lighting on the tower changes all the time. This is how it is currently lit.

The lighting on the tower changes all the time. This is how it is currently lit.

Seating in the North Pier Theater

Seating in the North Pier Theater

North Pier is currently closed but we were lucky enough to have access to it and the theater last night and it was incredibly spooky.

North Pier is currently closed but we were lucky enough to have access to it and the theater last night and it was incredibly spooky. It was while we taking these shots that I had my black cat experience.

Off to the ball.

Off to the ball.

Shadows in the light show.

Shadows in the light show.

Transport. See we don't just have trams.

Transport. See we don’t just have trams.

St Paul's Church.

St  John’s Church.

Can you spot something that appears to be a cat, top right near the purple curtain?
Can you spot something that appears to be a cat, top right near the purple curtain?

12 thoughts on “Blackpool at night in a positive light. And things get a little bit ghostly. First collection.

  1. all good pics, I think my favourites are the seating (I just love the symmetry of it) and the pier (looks like a 1950s photo to me for some reason).

    With the cat I can see something that I think looks like a cats face. what is the blue just underneath it? I have really zoomed into that area and I am wondering if it is something to do with the railings or the window behind because if you look close you see that what would be the Cats nose is reflecting light too as well as the “eyes”.

    The fact that your cameras wouldn’t work when facing to stage but would when facing away from the stage is scary as hell, no way that that can be explained away really *shiver*

  2. yeah I think that we can scare ourselves sometimes, you new it had a reputation be being haunted, it was at night so the senses are heightened, but yeah freaky stuff. the seat being down and the cat I thought fair enough, the cameras not working would have freaked me out.

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

