Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

Broken Love

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

I don’t normally indulge in the daily prompts. Usually because I can’t think of anything to write for them but today’s was quite apt for me as I have my sad head on so I thought I would post.

I would love to know what happily ever after meant. Happily ever after what? An event, birth, marriage, divorce, illness?  What was the something that caused the happily after to exist in the first place?

Generally in fairy tales it is something quite catastrophic that the fictitious characters have managed to escape from or learnt a lesson from that then means everyone can skip into the future hand in hand safe in the knowledge that situation is not going to happen for them again. In the tales I always felt like it meant ‘safe’.

Just over a year ago I was happy. I had started a new life on my own terms with my children and the future looked bright. For a change I had followed my own path. I was happy and ‘happily ever after’ is how I would describe how that made me feel. 

A while back I made a decision, I allowed someone back into my life who had been in the past. I didn’t think at the time it was a wrong decision. However, as in fairy tales you often learn that the past is the past for a reason. Feeling safe, happy and contented can sometimes skew the decisions that you make. You can forget why things went wrong. It isn’t a regret and will never be one because it brought as much happiness as it did unhappiness. It was just that my ‘happily ever after’ thought that it could make everyone else happy too.

It wasn’t going to work and it didn’t so now I am back to where I was but a little sad. I don’t need collective Awwww’s though because with that sadness comes lessons learnt, new beginnings and the knowledge that things happen for a reason. if something is meant to be it will be, if it isn’t it wont. That is life.

You cannot allow situations or sadness to engulf you. You have to use them to make things better to make your life better and to chase your happily ever when things go wrong. One thing I have learnt is that in my past I have been surrounded by too many people who fail to do that and in those cases your half full cup can struggle not to tip over.

So, my long-winded answer is that my happily ever after is now, today.

I have healthy happy children who make me laugh, make me proud, (make me mad sometimes too I am not wearing rose-tinted glasses all the time you know.) We have a roof over our heads, food in the cupboard, friends to hand and of course I have my camera which I use to put a tiny bit of my heart and soul into every photograph I take and no matter what, I will continue to do so.

Now things have changed slightly for me but isn’t that just life? It is full of unexpected twists and turns, who knows what will happen as we continue to chase our ‘happily ever after’. There may be hard times and sad times, but without those wouldn’t life be dull?

When your own life is not a bed of roses you will take a photograph that people love, or write a poem that caresses the soul and makes others cry, pen a song that seeps into the very core of a heart or tell a story that relates, touches and affects others.

Happily Ever After for me is always going to be ‘now’ and it will always be ‘Work In Progress’.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/daily-prompt-happy-ending/

20 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

  1. Pingback: To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Getting A Happy Ending – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. I understand this feeling, and I too have had a moment a long time ago when I allowed someone back into my life for a short while. But looking back, I think it was a good thing because it reassured me that I had not made the wrong decision to part. Perhaps if I hadn’t done that stupid allowing of the past to return, I would have been left with regret and foolish ‘what if’s’ going round my mind! I wish you a very happy now!! 😀

    • Thank you for your wise words Suzi and you are probably very right, I suppose that I am not left with ‘what if’s’ now. Onwards and Upwards x 🙂

  4. You expressed it so well, Jo. I believe happily ever after is making the commitment to do exactly what you’ve said here say: live in the ‘now’ and be prepared to do the hard work (inner and outer) to accept happiness into your life.

  5. I’ve always laughed at that line in fairy tales, because that’s how one tale end. Then you read the next tale where the prince and princess are now king and queen. The queen dies giving birth and the king remarries to the evil queen. So happily ever after only lasts until the end of each tale, and a new tale’s beginning is always a gruesome ending for someone (usually the mom).

    I’m living happily ever after alone with my boys too and I have been for a year. I cherish every day with them and by myself. Happily ever after is whatever makes you and your loved ones happy, and there’s not a single formula for it.

    One of my favorites quote on happiness is this one, because it’s so simple:
    “If you want to be happy, be.” ~ Leo Tolstoy

  6. Love it! I started my response off the same way – questioning the definition of happiness and questioning what it actually would mean to live “happily ever after.” I think it would be very silly of us, and maybe that is where we often get into trouble, to forget that life is a journey and to worry so much about the destination of that journey that we don’t take the time to enjoy the ride.

  7. Pingback: Happily Ever After: The Fairy Tale or Reality? | thelissachronicles

  8. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 21 – “Wicked Business” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

