Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the detail

When I am a reflective mood I go on ‘day dream walks’ as I like to call them. This is one of the places near my house where I go walking.

People in the area call it ‘Millionaires Row’ and it really is a beautiful place full of amazing houses that eventually leads to a wooded walking area with a pond where I can sit peacefully and think until my mind is straight again.

It is the place I would buy a house if my numbers ever came up, and around there you would be very much spoilt for choice.

I decided on this walk to snap a few of the houses and anything else that caught my attention, anything that had interesting detail. It was a lovely walk until I got to the pond to sit and ponder only to find two geeseΒ that were not in a very good mood. I couldn’t get to my spot for them hissing and chasing me away.

The gander was very aggressive because at this time of the year they are defending their mate and do not want anybody in their territory, that included me and any poor dogs that happened to pass by. They do not stop the attack until you have left their area. This behaviour is only going to get worse as during March Β the goose will lay her eggs.

They are beautiful to look at but boy they are grumpy creatures aren’t they? It looks like I will be looking for a new ‘reflective bench’ to sit on for a few months!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/weekly-photo-challenge-lost-in-the-details/

38 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the detail

  1. Geese are scary scary birds. But it is amazing how protective they are of each other, and that it seems they have no fear when it comes to defending their love and their children.

      • I tend to run if I see them. They have a pretty viscous bite. I learned that lesson as a kid at a pond feeding the ducks. Ducks, not geese, hence the attack, I suppose.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | paul dear photography

  4. Love the B&W photography. And I know what you mean about taking a walk to get your head straight… Too bad about the geese, hunh?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details (Snow Landscape) | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | AC's Sharing Spree

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details (2 Branches) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the Details | Chittle Chattle

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the Details | Just Snaps

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details – Spanish Revival Architecture | Humbled Pie

  12. Pingback: WPC Tibet | What's (in) the picture?

  13. Pingback: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 9, 'Lost in the Details']. | 3rdculturechildren

  14. I love all the great geometric shapes in the image “Gate’ – from the gate itself to the vines to the trees and the shadows of the tree limbs – great capture!

    • Thank you Stan. I love shapes, spaces and patterns in everyday things. It is funny once you get interested in photography and it has found it’s way into your soul that you realise how long in life you must have spent walking around with your eye’s closed to things that are all around you. πŸ™‚

  15. That is hilarious, It amazes me that people can think that animals don’t have a personality.
    This is a clear depiction of not only nature and instinct but “Grumpiness”
    Still laughing and glad that you got away….

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | Far Away

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

