Weekly Photo Challenge – Change

PromThis is what happens here. You wake up and the birds are singing, and it is a sweet song, even with the noisy seagulls harmonising The sun is shining. You get excited, you crack out your spring coat. Then you freeze your backside off on the prom because the sun went behind the clouds. It seems that spring has not officially sprung here as yet.

The reason I have chosen this photograph for this challenge is because I got my first new lens this week. A 70-300 Macro Zoom lens. I have been reading about them and looking a photographs taken with them for months. This is the first photograph I have taken with it. I took it down to the prom and fired off a few practice shots. I can see that I am going to have lots of fun with this.

When I first got my first SLR camera in January of this year I felt as if I suddenly did not have a clue. It was much bigger than me and after being so used to the compact camera learning to use it properly was a big job. I understood about aperture, depth of field, exposure but applying it to how I wanted to apply it with the beast was another story.

Recently I have felt as though my camera and I were finally singing off the same hymn sheet a little more. Maybe that is why I have chosen now to put myself right back there with something else to learn. It is all change again. Learning, mistakes, trial and error and most importantly, fun.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/weekly-photo-challenge-change/

23 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Change

  1. It’s in the mistakes where you’ll learn/discover the most. At least that’s been my experience. When you start taking macro shot (if you haven’t already) make sure you’ve got a fast shutter speed or a good tripod/monopod. You’ll find the instances of camera shake a bit more exaggerated with both macro and when you’ve got the focal length at 300mm. Another tip, if you’re shooting long exposures on a tripod make sure you turn of the in-len image stabilization. You’ll actually get sharper images on long exposure with it off.

    Ok, I’ll stop being a condescending bastard and leave you in peace. {;~}

    Great shot by the way.

    • Not at all, I really appreciate your advice, that makes sense. Any help at all is good for me. I haven’t done any decent macro yet and I am really excited to give that a go. I totally agree about learning from your mistakes. Sometimes though some of the shots that ‘go wrong’ end up being my fond fav’s. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment and offer some great advice. I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. go on doing a great job- me, about to take my first digital camera course. Who’d have though I used to be able to develop my own negs?

    • I am really looking forward to seeing the photo’s, you already have all the experience and once you master the camera there will be no stopping you. x

    • Thank you, I do like a shallow dof. I did take one the other way around where the tower and background was in focus and the foreground was more blurry, but I preferred this one.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | mothergrogan

  4. Learning from mistakes is all very well, but what you generally learn from them is not to make the same mistake again and little else. You can keep making different mistakes forever and never actually improve. Learning from serendipity, that’s the ticket. That way you move forwards rather than stagnate. Find the happy accidents. (Sound advice courtesy of Hughes Unsolicited Advice Associates Inc.)

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | Code For Confession

  6. Pingback: 4-16-13 Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | The Quotidian Hudson

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | Mike Hardisty Photography

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | Peanut Jelly Sandwich

  9. Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

