Two posts in one day, get me!

Been a bit giddy today. New lens and for the first time in the longest time the sun came out. Butterfly and a bee photo opportunities all in one day.

The bee was right there on the windowsill practically begging for a close up. Sadly I really could not crack the focus and no matter what I did I just could not get a decent close up. So maddening.

I still have such a lot to learn. These were hand-held and sharpness is an issue. I am still struggling with getting the focus exactly how I want it, so it is quite hit and miss at the moment.

I am looking forward to getting better and seeing some improvements along the way but I must admit I think I am going to really enjoy learning how to use this lens properly. Even though I am not getting exactly what I want I still had lots of fun with it today.

Practice may eventually make (almost) perfect.

17 thoughts on “Two posts in one day, get me!

  1. I’ve never used a macro lens, but any magnification tends to make sharpness a real problem – I think you are doing very well! Tripod may help, but oh – they are a real pain to truck around with you! 😦 And by the time you’ve set it up, the bee has gone! I have a number of very fuzzy bee pictures from my past – at least I tried!! πŸ˜€

    • Yep, I am not finding it easy lol. I think you’re right though but like you say dragging it round will be a pain. May give it a go this week. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ Only since I got the zoom have I been able to photograph her properly as she usually scarpers the minute she see’s me with the camera.

  2. Thats why I almost only take pictures of things that dont move (that much) πŸ™‚
    One trick you could use is to set the camera up with the right settings and focus and the wait for the insect to com by. A remote control doesn’t hurt either. I tried it a couple of times and I didn’t have to wait that long (pictures didn’t turn up good though).

    • Yes, I think I will try the sitting and waiting once the weather improves, bit chilly yet for that. πŸ™‚ Thank you for taking the time to comment. πŸ™‚

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

