Conversations with my pets #2 – Walking me? Seriously… Outside with animals and things?

'Seriously Jack, what's that face for? 'You just said that word again' 'What word?' 'That thing you say before you make me wander around aimlessly' 'What, you mean Walkies?' 'Yea, about that, can we like, keep that to a minimal?' 'What? Your a Greyhound, you need exercise, lots of it' 'Um, no that is actually a massive misconception about us noble breeds. Now and again we like to run really, really fast like 45 miles per hour for about 35 seconds. Then really, we just want to sleep all day and all night and only really move to eat and pee'  'Get your lead on, we are going for a walk'

‘Seriously Jack, what’s that face for?
‘You just said that word again’
‘What word?’
‘That thing you say before you make me wander around aimlessly’
What, you mean Walkies?’
‘Yea, about that, can we like, keep that to a minimal?’
‘What? Your a Greyhound, you need exercise, lots of it’
‘Um, no that is actually a massive misconception about us noble breeds. Now and again we like to run really, really fast like 45 miles per hour for about 35 seconds. Then really, we just want to sleep all day and all night and only really move to eat and pee’
‘Get your lead on, we are going for a walk’

'What... wait... you put that strappy thing on the big gangly thing and make him walk with you?'  'Yes, Belle, it is called going for a walk'  'What he can't just come and go as he pleases? He has to have that strap on all the time and go where you make him?'  'Yes, he is a dog, he has a lead, I take him for walks.....'

‘What… wait… you put that strappy thing on the big gangly thing and make him walk with you?’
‘Yes, Belle, it is called going for a walk’
‘You mean he can’t just come and go as he pleases? He has to have that strap thing on all the time and go where you make him, when you feel like it?’
‘Yes, he is a dog, he has a lead, I take him for walks…..’

'hahahahahahahahahaha AHAHAHA' 'Yea, alright Belle, leave it out' 'hahahahahahaha'

‘hahahahahahahahahaha AHAHAHA’
‘Yea, alright Belle, leave it out’
‘hahahahahahaha’

'Yea, seriously what is he doing?' 'Aww he is being nice and giving you a kiss' 'I don't want a kiss, tell him, tell him that I came from nobility and aristocracy. He can't just kiss me for gods sake!'  'Just play nice and stop  being such a snob Jack'  'You couldn't have even owned me back in the day so stop telling me to play nice!' 'He is a bulldog, they are proud dogs, you should be pleased he likes you, they are clever dogs, a bit like you Jack'

‘No, what, seriously what is he doing?’
‘Aww he is being nice and giving you a kiss’
‘I don’t want a kiss, tell him, tell him that I came from nobility and aristocracy. He can’t just kiss me for gods sake!’
‘Just play nice and stop being such a snob Jack’
‘You couldn’t have even owned me back in the day so stop telling me to play nice!’
He is a bulldog, they are proud dogs, you should be pleased he likes you, they are clever dogs, a bit like you Jack’
‘It says MAD DOG on his coat thing, really are you sure he is intelligent?’
Yea sure he is, they are just puppies and beautiful playful ones at that. You are just not used to them yet. Just be nice’

‘Oh for gods sake. You have got to be kidding me? Seriously, just take me home. Even that stupid fluffy ball of angry indifference that wants to rip the very face off me is better than this. Oh god, I have Bulldog slobber on my coat. You couldn’t make this up’
‘Ah it is all new to you, stop being so boring, you need to learn to play more’
‘I am not indifferent, I am just getting used to all this world of mad cats, slobber and things I supposed to understand. What is this play thing of which you speak? And stop calling me a snob’
‘You will get used to it, trust me. And you are a snob’
‘Get Stuffed’, and while we are at it, give me more bed.’
‘You are not getting more bed. And I love you too, so do they’   
‘Whatever. Seriously. Take me home, now.’

Bit of info on Jack and Greyhounds in general. Up to last year Jack was a racing greyhound who was trained by Jean L Mccombe and raced at Belle Vue in Manchester. His racing name is Vatican Stein. Apparently he was a pretty good racer and was class A which is pretty high up (I can’t explain more I know little about the racing side of things, but I have been told he was worthy of note and he does turf up on google under his racing name). He was retired last year due to injury and stayed at the kennels with Jean until ‘Greyhounds In Need’ could find him a home. Which they did, with me.

Until he came to live with me Jack had never lived in a house. He had never had a walk outside of the training ground. Never seen or been up and down stairs. Never come across cars or seen lots of other types of dogs. All the noises of everyday home life and outside of the house is completely new to him. He has literally come into a completely alien world to the one he was bred and trained for the past four years. How quickly they can adapt to new situations is tantamount of their nature as a breed. His journey of coming across new things makes me laugh.

He has settled into family life really well and is like most greyhounds beautifully natured and quiet, they rarely bark and contrary to popular belief they don’t actually like too much exercise If you are lucky enough to train them to recall you can let them off the lead in the right place and watch them run. However, as for walking they don’t want more than about two twenty-minute walks a day. I have had him out longer but generally, they are happy with that.

They sleep a lot. They sleep pretty much all the time that they are not eating or walking. I have never known another breed of dog who sleeps more than my cat. They play and adapt easily to new situations generally and are a beautiful family pet. They are loyal and loving and once you have looked in the eyes of one of these guys you are pretty much in love.

They also walk beside you on lead like a show dog when you are on walks and if you stop to do something they stop with you and they do not move until you do. I call him my ‘Tog Dog’ because when I spot something I want to take a photograph of he stops with me and stays there patiently and without question until I have finished taking a billion piccies of what ever has caught my eye.

Here is something else he does, he sleeps on my bed until I get in then he get’s on his bed and he does not move until I wake up, when I wake up he is the giddiest kipper ever, he jumps on my bed and goes mad for a good ten minutes, kisses, licks, tail wags till it might come off, giving me his belly for a good old stroke. He is like this when I grab his lead for a walk. There is no doubt he is enjoying his new life.

They are a beautiful breed of dog, a pleasure to have and observe. Well deserving of a happy home to live out their remaining years.

If you are interested in owning a greyhound then ‘Greyhounds in Need’ are always looking to re-home retired racing dogs to loving homes. I could not be happier with my ‘not so little’ man.

36 thoughts on “Conversations with my pets #2 – Walking me? Seriously… Outside with animals and things?

  1. I’ve got a four year old Long-haired Weimaraner/Doberman Pincher mix who’s the opposite of your Greyhound. He constantly moans as if to say, “Get off you lazy a$$ two legs! I wanna chase a tennis ball for three and a half hours!” I love the Greyhound portrait btw.

    • Aw I love them, I bet he keeps you busy! I really thought that Greyhounds would be a bit like that, could not have been more wrong lol. He does like going for a walk though but because of his training he walks right by your side. If I actually let him off he would be 0-45 in about 4 seconds and a spec in the distance though. Thank you for your comments I shall go and have a look at your work. 🙂

  2. I’ve always loved the look of greyhounds but known nothing about them so its been really interesting to read about Jack. Thank you and Jack – you’re sleek and handsome 🙂

    • Thank you for passing by and commenting. Retired racers really do make beautiful family pets. They are adorable, very quiet and placid and just want love and a nice walk and lots of sleep. Apart from food, they love sleep above most other things. I will be posting more about Jack. 🙂

  3. Lovely photos of your pets and some nice dialogue. 🙂 Last year I read a lovely book written as a sort of journal covering the first year of so of taking on a rescue dog, a lurcher (Greyhound/Saluki cross). This post reminded me of that book, with the individual pet personalities coming out. The book was Walking Ollie by Stephen Foster, a UK author. It is a very good read for anyone who loves dogs. After many ups and downs the author finally established a rapport with the dog and learnt a lot about himself in the process too.

  4. I would take my ex-racing greyhound to run in the paddock at the horse vet. He could do his 35 second run-like-the-wind, and then roll on and eat horse poop. I think that was the ultimate greyhound heaven.

    • haha Brilliant. I am desperately trying to find somewhere enclosed to take him where I can let him off to run. Thank you because one of daughters friends has horses so I may have a word with her and see if there is anywhere there I can take him. I would love him to get a good run and I am sure he would appreciate it too.

  5. Pingback: Race | Constant Geography

  6. I love this post! I, too, have a fluffy ball of indifference who who happily shred my pups faces. They are in a constant state of renegotiation. It’s very fun to watch 🙂

  7. Thank you, they are so funny animals aren’t they. He is just confused as to why she doesn’t like him. It is so funny to watch. She will come around eventually, she is an ex rescue as well and it took about a year for her to even like us a tiny bit! lol

  8. Jack looks like a great dog and I really enjoyed your post-especially the *conversation*-thank you too for stopping by Little Dogs Laughed-We appreciate it and look forward to hearing more about Jack!

  9. This is a really lovely post. Highly entertaining, and beautifully heart-warming. Jack is one lucky dog to have been adopted by you! : )))

  10. Pingback: Conversations with my pets – Life with rescue animals | merleytwister

  11. Love the image of your adorable puppy!! And I think my wolf mix could give him a run for nappies 🙂 LOL Its a great thing you have done by adopting him. Look forward to “hearing” more of your conversations with him. 🙂

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

