Three guesses where we went this bank holibob weekend…

A different viewpoint

A different viewpoint

DSC_0009 BW JO DSC_0009-S DSC_0017.SMjpg DSC_0041-SM DSC_0056-SM DSC_0087-SM DSC_0104SM DSC_0121SM DSC_0130-SM DSC_0145-SM DSC_0152-SM DSC_0158-SM DSC_0166-SM DSC_0179-SM DSC_0184SM DSC_0191SM DSC_0196SM DSC_0212SM DSC_0215SM DSC_0221SM

The things I wanted to shoot more than anything were the giraffes  monkeys, orangutans, elephants and wolves.

The elephants were indoors and behind a really high thick metal fence that was not for zooming through, was still amazing to see them though and I did what I could under the circumstances.

The monkeys and orangutans were getting a new enclosure built so were not out at all… gutted. However, it was as always an amazing day.

I have literally hundreds of photographs but just posting a few for now. My favorite is the brazen monkey sunbathing with his baby and his …. ummm bits and bobs out, scratching his chest and looking like an animal version of the back stage of a Jeremy Kyle show.

Best bit of the day was the simplest for me, peacocks showing off to their females . I have not seen that up close since I was a child. 

I really want to go back soon and get some more pictures. I have always felt a little uncomfortable with animals caged up but they all seemed quite happy and contented and well looked after. I cannot lie, I would much prefer to enjoy wildlife on a safari but you know, without that lottery win the zoo will have to do and it was worth every penny.  Fabulous rare sunny day (god the weather here has been dire up to the last few days!) and I actually got a bit sunburn on the back of me neck!! 

Roll on summer and this weather to continue so we can do more of this. 

21 thoughts on “Three guesses where we went this bank holibob weekend…

  1. I have just nominated you for the “WordPress Family Award”.
    You are a part of my virtual family, feeding my mind and supporting my passions on blogagaini. You have been connected with me on my cyber journey and appreciate you.

    What you need to do in acceptance of the “WordPress Family Award”:
    Display the award logo on your blog.
    Link back to me as the one who nominated you
    (http://blogagaini.wordpress.com/about/awards/)
    Nominate 10 others you see as having an impact on your WordPress experience and family and let your 10 Family members know you have awarded them.

    Congratulations!

  2. Your kids are adorable. The Peacock and the Giraffes are my favorites. The first photo of the Peacock – I love that viewpoint!

    • Thank you, the peacocks are amazing. I haven’t seen one fanning its tail like that since I was a kid. It was fantastic.

  3. I recognise every one of those animals cos I work there. what gave it away was the peacock in the first pic! He loves that green electric cupboard for want of a better expression! He spends most of its time looking and fanning its feathers at it!

    • Thank you. I am still converting some, I keep going back and finding others that I like. It really was a lovely day 🙂

  4. Some lovely pics! 🙂 Though I am not keen on zoos these animals all look in good condition, as you mentioned. I especially liked the giraffe pics, because they have such large eyelashes, always makes me smile. 🙂

    • The giraffes are beatiful. The keepers seem quite passionate about their welfare and there are lots of babies being born, they all seem happy. 🙂

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

