Are you ready for your close up?

DSC_0299SM

This week I have been messing about with close-ups. I bought some close up filters to give them a try, and although the lighting wasn’t brilliant I thought I would give them a run in the garden with my umm… well, weeds quite frankly.

The close up filters don’t fit on my zoom/macro lens and I am not sure how much of a difference they would make with that so I used my 18-55 lens. Hopefully I will figure things out and as usual end up going my own way rather than the ‘right way’ as is often my want.

Lots more practice with this yet. I have also decided that my next purchase will be an off camera flash to start playing with flash photography a little bit more. Still, lots of fun to be had with this first if the weather ever improves of course.

DSC_0285SM

Obviously this isn’t a weed. ;-P

DSC_0312SM

Dandelions are quite pretty really.

DSC_0310-S

Mono-Bells

DSC_0303 L

Inside an Alien purple bluebell

60 thoughts on “Are you ready for your close up?

      • Great photo’s, Yes DOF does take some practice I have mainly stuck with the +2 and increased the aperture between 7.1 to 9 ish, I still get blurring at the edges of the subject, but I find that pleasing. I have ordered a new toy for my Canon but more on that when it arrives πŸ˜€

      • Yes I like the blurring too, I will play with different apertures. I look forward to your next post, you know I always want to rush out and buy things after I’ve read your blog lol

  1. Some really brilliant close ups here Jo! πŸ˜€ Close up is so fascinating, it’s another world entirely on those flowers! Not quite sure how the filters work. Do they just allow you to get in closer or do they magnify the image?

    • Thanks Suzy. I think they do both, SLR’s are not really great at focusing close up, they get confused and wont fire, these filters seem to allow you get closer and they also magnify it. Really what I would want once I have played around with these is to save up for a proper macro lens as it is an area I would love to learn more about. πŸ™‚

      • I actually think wild flowers and weeds are beautiful too, there is one particular one that grows in front garden that my daughter and I are waiting to turn back up, we have no idea what it is called as yet but it is beautiful. Will post a piccie when it grows again πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Matt, trying something a bit different while the weather isn’t so good. Honestly you would never believe it was meant to be summer here!

      • Summer? We had that last week, and this week we’ve moved on to fall already… next week I think we are supposed to have summer again, and then I think we return to spring at the beginning of June.

      • In the UK we have decided to do away with seasons all together and just have one now that we now call ‘Damp’ it lasts all year. πŸ™‚

      • Okay, see that is new. Well, hooray for changing weather! You wouldn’t want it to be same all the time would you? That’d be boring. …. wait a minute… πŸ˜‰

      • Indeed. In England the women no longer shave their legs, that just adds to our warmth, we are evolving into 12 layer wearing hairy beasts. It is not attractive.

      • Hey now, don’t just go assuming that it’s not attractive… to some people, 12 layer wearing hairy beasts of women are probably la creme da la crame. πŸ˜‰

  2. The photos are all quite amazing.Three cheers for your new lens. Looking forward to seeing more great shots.
    I’m a bit behind in reading posts. I have a new personal weekly challenge: no internet on Wednesday. I came back on Thursday with a load. So it’s going to be one at a time. I’m happy I didn’t miss this post.

    • Thank you B (now I know it is you lol). I am finding that I am missing lots of blogs that I really enjoy keeping on top of due to when I can and cannot get online and my dodgy reader which is not showing all the blogs that I follow of course! I hate the thought of missing blogs from special people I am following but it seems to be happening at the moment sadly. I will get it sorted though one way or another πŸ™‚

    • I don’t think by technical standards they are actually macro so I called them close ups so as not to offend any proper macro photographers (You know how it can be in this game) lol I have enjoyed this though and shall be playing a bit more over the weekend I hope πŸ™‚

  3. I love the macro too! I call mine macro but I don’t even have a special lens – didn’t realise that might offend some purists! I love your dandelion shots, both the flower and the seed head. I’ve taken both myself. Love tour conversation about the seasons and that we now just have the one called damp! I’d add windy to that though for two days we’ve had sunshine and stillness! Beautiful!
    All the best to you and your hoover dog and more sensible cat – and your teenagers too! πŸ™‚

  4. Great experimental series, the dandelion is stunning! I tried a similar shot a couple of weeks ago, but the brightness of the yellow was too much and the result wasn’t worth sharing. I probably need to invest in a ND filter. Look forward to seeing more macros in the future. πŸ™‚

    • I got a set of 12 filters from Amazon for about 18 quid, close ups, 2 nd filters and a uv filter. Well worth the money πŸ™‚

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

