Kleptomaniac dog

JackMy dog’s a kleptomaniac
When we are sleeping like the dead
He wanders round collecting things
and puts them in his bed.
Wooly hats and teddy bears
are among his favorite things
Bumper bags of crisps and combs
are other bits he brings
He stole a roll of bin bags
and likes a smelly sock or two
He just likes to nick them
he doesn’t want to chew.
Paper, that is different though
that’s the thing he loves the most
He rips that to smithereens
So I never get my post.
The rest he fills his bed up with
Until no space is free.
And when his work is done
He sneaks up on my bed with me.

29 thoughts on “Kleptomaniac dog

    • He was so quiet when we first got him (ex rescue greyhound) but bit by bit his personality is really coming out now, he is so funny and he has a lot of little quirks. He fits right in as so do we ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Ah – this is a sweet poem! Dogs and their things! And why do they love beds and sofa’s so much! I wonder if it’s to do with smell and not softness, dogs love their comforting smells – big babies really!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • He is like a big baby lol he is very, very cute though. And those eyes it’s hard to say no. Wasn’t best pleased when he ran off with a whole Swiss roll this morning though when I was making the kids school lunches ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, what dog’s do you have? They are great aren’t they. If I had more room I would love to get a whippet as well :-

      • Fantastic, both lovely breeds. I definitely wouldn’t have the room for a Great Dane ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Inside the house she doesn’t need much space. Outside she has all space she wants. Love both my dogs to bits ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love it. I’ve just had a great little giggle reading this and I can definitely relate: as I write this, Stanley (there are many posts about him on my blog) lies beside me and on the floor, his collection of goods scattered willy nilly.

    • They are just brilliant with their quirks and personalities ha, I will have a good read of your blog. I have done some ‘conversations with my pets’ posts in here because their personalities are just brilliant. Kids and animals are just the best. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will have to grab a cuppa tomorrow and have a good look through your blog. x

      • I couldn’t agree more. My kids, my Stanley ahhhh they make me smile everyday.
        I am looking through your now, your photography is amazing, really. And I love that you include some of the tech settings, it makes me think, hmmm I might try those settings and see what I get. I have a Nikon D90 with a couple of lenses (nothing fancy) and just try to get what I feel and see. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thank you so much. I honestly try lots of different settings with each shot and usually one of them will work better and I then (being a bit anal) I make a note of the setting and light conditions for next time x That is if I have a shot in mind, otherwise I just pop it on aperture priority and snap away. ๐Ÿ™‚

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

