Twit Twooo

DSC_0009SM DSC_0010SM DSC_0011sm DSC_0013SM DSC_0014SM DSC_0018L

The expression on this one's face did make me giggle.

The expression on this one’s face did make me giggle.

Now I would love to say that I hid out with my camera in the wilderness waiting for owls to pass by so I could get a shot of them. I would love to say that but it would not be true.

In reality my kids and I were at a music and art festival yesterday, and as is the want at these types of things a chap was wandering around with two owls. SoΒ some great impromptu close up photo opportunities for me with two incredibly obliging birds. I love birds of prey so much (despite my brother and I being dived bombed by a snowy owl at the park as kids). They are just incredibly beautiful creatures.

I had to laugh though, as I was taking photographs of the big fella I asked the chap what would happen if he got off his leash. He replied really deadpan and nonchalant “Oh he would just eat the small owl first then attack anyone he came across”.. I took that as my cue to finish the shoot.

I could have edited my reflection out of the eyes, and maybe I will at a later date but just now I just like them as they are.

So now this has made me want to go and hunt out places where I can try capture them in flight. Β Off on the internet to do some research.

30 thoughts on “Twit Twooo

      • I had to Google it, but you weren’t far off. Ahem: “I’m a rather fat feathery owl called Sage, I’m not at all happy in fact in a rage, It’s bad enough having one’s home all upset, But to make matters worse all my feathers are wet.”

        Actually, I’m pretty sure he didn’t sing that every week. It seems a bit specific.

  1. Well, I guess comments can sometimes represent a metaphor of life, but, regardless, you created stunning portraits πŸ™‚

  2. Very nice photos, I saw a owl only once in the wilderness. My brother had a Eurasian Eagle-Owl one morning in his garden. This thing was huge πŸ™‚

  3. waow ! beautiful !
    before reading your text, I was asking myself, but how did he do that ? witch lens did he use ?
    great !

    • Thank you (I am a she by the way lol) I had the zoom lens on the camera for these so I was not standing right on top of them, as they got more used to me I changed to the 18-55. It has made me want to go somewhere where I can try and catch them in their natural habitat now though. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Bella it really was. I wish I could have taken more but there was such a crowd and I had the kids with me. I always find it hard to concentrate on my camera when I am with them unless I am photographing them of course πŸ™‚

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

