Come on Birdies!

20130616_155253

 

So, firstly don’t judge me on the grass….This garden is very much work in progress and my garden help has it all under control apparently and is growing it up and strimming and all sorts manner of things to get it back to how it should be. This grass when I arrived was about 4 foot long and flat. It had been like this for a long, long time so underneath was huge bald patches and dead grass and all sorts of nightmarish stuff. Trust me, it is a hundred times better now and still has at least another year to go until we get it to become a real and proper lawn. Β Slowly, slowly, catchy monkey an all that.

That aside. I decided I wanted to start shooting some birdy pictures and thought I would start off in the garden. In the absence of the right kind of flowers as yet I set about putting all known seeds known to any flying thing all over the garden to try attract them. I always put bird seed and food out for the birds but this time I had a big chat with my favorite lady at my favorite pet shop (I am in there at least once a day just for a chat anyway) and she directed me to all sorts of things that would attract wild birds so I bought enough to last me a year. As you do.

This was a few weeks ago.

I hear them, I see them. Fleeting Β flashes of colour, yellows, blues, greens. There, gone. Whoosh.

I now have a renewed huge amount of respect for people who take photographs of birds. HUGE respect.

It.Is.Hard. No that is an understatement. For me it is impossible!

So, I have a shot of the only bird that comes at the moment and stays long enough to be photographed without it being a blur of colour. It would be hard being a blur of colour as it is not particularity colourful, but I do love it all the same. I need to read about photographing birds a lot more, findΒ out times when the other ones are about more and all manner of things don’t I? In fact knowing what species birds are zooming around the garden would help.

This is a Starling… There are bloody loads of them here almost as many of these as we have seagulls. The lack of colour is more than made up by watching them roost at sunset, they are amazing.

Anyhoo. I got two bird photographs today, of the same bird and that was it! Ha. Early days.

This one turfed up. That was about it though.

This one turfed up. That was about it though.

 

It did ruffle it's feathers for me though.

It did ruffle its feathers for me though.

I do wonder if this little man tear arsing around the garden at 25 miles an hour periodically has anything to do with the lack of birds??

I do wonder if this little man tear arseing around the garden at 25 miles an hour periodically has anything to do with the lack of birds??

And I will leave you with a photo from my archives of actually how amazing Starlings are. They roost on North Pier at sunset and it is pretty much the most amazing sight you can witness. A photograph does not do it justice so look on the internet for videos to see them in action. It is breathtaking. Then when you fall in love with the ink spots, swoops, shapes, gracefulness and clouds of awesomeness they form, go find out where they roost near you, take a picnic rug and enjoy.

Starlings over North Pier in Blackpool at sunset.

Starlings over North Pier in Blackpool at sunset.

So, I only hope that over the coming months I can get at least ONE shot of a colourful little birdy eating the abundance of seed I have available. I apologise for the big ‘watermark’ on my last photograph, I explained that a while back. I don’t do it anymore.

 

 

38 thoughts on “Come on Birdies!

  1. There’s a very simple reason why you’re having difficulty getting birds into your garden. It’s the same problem I’ve got. It’s called cat ownership. If you wait around though, you’ll end up with some good photographs of half eaten starling heads with a bit of wing…if you like that sort of thing.

  2. love the dof on the 1st two. Jack looks chilled, does he have distinguished grey fur around his mouth? the sunset picture is awesome too.

  3. Agh, I want that second picture of the bird ruffling his pictures hanging on my wall so I can stare at it. Or I can just sit here and burn its image into my retinas.

    • Hi thank you πŸ™‚ I looked into that and my camera doesn’t support them sadly. I am going to make sure on my next upgrade that I take all these things into account as it doesn’t bracket either which I really miss.

  4. Haha ! I feel your pain in starting into bird photography. It is not a task for the faint hearted. First lesson..a lot of waiting is involved. Second lesson..a lot of frames are wasted. Third lesson, make sure the bird is closer otherwise forget about it when you crop. I’ve been working on it for three years now, you can see the practice is paying off. πŸ™‚

    • Yep lol yours are lovely I think I might just snap away and see if I get lucky and hope for the best. I think it will take me longer than three years to get to your standard though Bella πŸ˜€

  5. Birds of late have not been very cooperative, I guess they have a good excuse with all that nesting to complete. but still boo, I am hoping the weather will improve so I can grab some of the new younger birds. I take mine normally handheld with a minimum shutter speed of 1/400 and my minimum focal length is 280mm or 420 if I want to risk using my Sigma. But it can be frustrating as you click and woosh empty frame where bird once was πŸ˜€

    • Ha did you watch Hitcocks ‘birds’ in your youth! .*shivers* the little ones are ok but if the seagulls nest on your roof around here forget using your garden until the babies have flown the nest, the parents attack you. Lol

  6. Great photos. Most of my bird photos usually happen because I’m at the right place and time and was lucky to have brought my camera. Anytime I “plan” to photograph birds, I don’t get any.

  7. When I first started photographing the birds, I went outside every morning with my coffee and sat near the bird feeder with my camera. Eventually, they got used to me. There are still a few species that I see all the time but haven’t been able to get a decent shot.

    The startling is adorable. Is he a fledgling? We build a nest box and sized the entrance for tits, but some starlings managed to squeeze in anyway.

    • Hi, thank you the starling is a fledgling. Now the weather is improving (hopefully) I shall follow your advice. I am going to get a small birdhouse today. πŸ™‚

  8. Well I must say for your first try you did good. My best friend who introduced photography to me is a bird lover. When she took me for my first photography lesson I had to capture raptures. She was driving so when I saw one on a telephone pole I had to start focusing because as soon as the car stop the raptor took off. I must say this helped allot with my children photography you must always be ready. Now my friend moved away and I miss her and our day trips allot. Can’t wait for December to come so that I can go visit her. Good luck for your next birding shoot. Just get a few plants with flowers on it from a nursery and you will get some awesome shots. I also have a cat and Jackie also had a cat and as soon as the birds and cat get use to one another you’ll get your WOW shots.

  9. Love the top portrait of a young Starling – beautifully sharp. The Starlings look really smart in the autumn when they’ve had their post breeding moult. Like the doggie portrait too πŸ™‚

    Consider planting a small tree (emphasis on small) then you’ll be able to hang feeders in it and you’ll have the opportunity to photograph the birds in amongst the branches.

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

