Clouds from my back garden.

Cirrus Cloud

 

I completely love clouds. They take my breath away and in the same way that the sea does I find them very soothing and they really concentrate my mind. When I walk I am constantly looking into the sky to see what the clouds are doing and because I live so close to the North sea there are usually some stunning cloud formations here in the different weather conditions.

I snapped these from my back garden yesterday. I am starting a new mini project where I am going to photograph anything different that is happening in the sky from my garden and these wispy clouds gently swirling aroundΒ the sun was such a lovely sight.

These are Cirrus clouds and are very common if you take the time to look into the sky. They are composed of ice crystals and are a sign of an approaching warm front.

I used my Zoom lens on the first shot and then switched to my 18-55 for the second one because I wanted to get the whole cloud in, which I personally think looks rather like a baby alien. There is also a demonic face in there on the left hand side and you could play the ink spot game for ages with this photograph.

I am hoping that there will be some more interesting clouds to snap from my garden in the coming weeks for this mini project and I look forward to finding out a bit more about what they are called and what they tell us about the weather because I am actually quite a geek in that respect.

Cirrus Cloud

 

33 thoughts on “Clouds from my back garden.

    • Yes but it was yesterday afternoon at high tide. I can’t see the sea from my garden but we are close enough to capture some of the sky, the clouds are usually really interesting in the back garden if there are any. πŸ™‚

    • The black and white conversion brought more detail out in the raw file, but this is just how it was and it yelled to be photographed. πŸ™‚

    • I am right next to the North Sea so most clouds here are quite different depending on the weather conditions. This type of cloud is really one of the more common ones around here, this one though was timing, beautiful light and a spot out of the back window. It is easy to become complacent about them here because they are so prevalent x
      πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Hiding | Experimental Fiction

    • Thank you, I do love the clouds around here, living so close to the sea it does give us such interesting cloud formations. πŸ™‚

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

