The sea swallows have flown. Or rather been nicked.

DSC_5970s DSC_5972s DSC_5973SMThese are the latest addition to the art along Cleveleys prom that has been inspired by the Sea Swallow book.

Sadly when I went to photograph them seven of them had already been removed, stolen basically.

I have to say, when I first saw them I did wonder how long they would last. They are lovely in the right light though and I hope that they replace them but I don’t hold out much hope for them staying put sadly.

Hopefully the act will have been caught on cctv but the truth is, you can’t stop these kind of things from happening and they are perhaps a bit delicate. If the vandals don’t get them, I am not sure they would survive a mighty high tide.

I was really disappointed because I did want to get a shot of all of them in place but sadly there were only about 5 of them left.

I will keep popping down to see if they have all be replaced so I can at least get a nice photograph of them all in situ.

 

16 thoughts on “The sea swallows have flown. Or rather been nicked.

    • I know, I honestly did not think I would like them but actually with the light shining through them I did see them a little differently. I think had they all been in place it would have looked really lovely. They do design all these things with lighting etc in mind so you do have to go and see them with an open mind.

    • Thank you. I wish I could have got them all. They have removed the ones that were left now, hopefully they will find somewhere more suitable for them to live.

  1. Sad. Guess that’s what happens when your art is too small and too pretty :(. Maybe the artist could have used RFID tags or locator chips inside the birds. Just like you track migratory birds with chips attached to their legs, maybe one could track those little birdies too… Guess that would mean the artist should have planned for the theft of their work… 😦

    • That would not be a bad idea. Shame when it comes to that but sadly outdoor art is always risky and they were very small. I think we all knew they would not last very long. They have removed the remaining 5 now so I am trying to find out if they are going to put them somewhere a little safer.

  2. A nice series. Color translucent objects are great photographic subjects. Art in public spaces always seems to run the risk of damage and/or theft. My wife Jane Ingram Allen does a lot of site specific installations. We did an installation of her paper and wire constructed birds in a New York State park across from the Brooklyn Bridge. The first installation the birds survived because the people in the park liked and protected them. The next time they were installed there was some damage. Here is the link to that specific page on a very old website http://www.janeingramallen.com/Janeweb-birdstatement/bw2/bw2.html

    • Thank you for the comment and the link, your wife’s art is beautiful. It is such a shame when these things happen. I was really looking forward to photographing them in different types of light but alas it was not to be.

      • Thank you for your complement on my wife’s work. If you would like to see more of her current work you could go to to my blog and there is a section on Jane Ingram Allen’s Art Work or to her blog http://janeingramallen.wordpress.com
        Chance is alway factor in getting a photo of temporary public art work. Carrying a camera with you all the time maybe the answer but it does not help with taking images at various times of the day. I guess you could camp out.
        In many cities, sanctioned public works of art are very poor. I think the reason is that prevention of damage and longevity outweighs the aesthetics.

Wanna Chat? I know I do..