Weekly Photo Challenge – In the background (#1)

F/stop - f/22. Exposure - 1/15 Seconds. ISO 400.

F/stop – f/22. Exposure – 1/15 Seconds. ISO 400. I took this inside the tram sat opposite my son. I was mesmerized by the reflections through the window.It showed him, the man sat opposite and both side of the world on each side steaming by. It was one of those moments when I saw it and did not know if I could capture it. Set the camera and waited to see if that image would appear again as the tram came out of the shadows. It did. I have loads of it not going right. In this one though, it did go right. Precious moments of the amateur photographer.

Blog

Long exposure 30 seconds, taken against a shadow on the wall with a very patient and super muse. My daughter who walked, stopped, stayed very still and then walked again on cue. No editing except conversion to black and white.

Solitary Alone on the prom

Time-webOnce again apologies for the distracting watermarks on some of them.  These are ones that I have posted before in the early days of my blog that I wanted to re-publish.

I am going to get out next week and take some new ones just for this challenge. I am feeling better now after the lurgy and I chomping at the bit to get out with camera.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/weekly-photo-challenge-in-the-background/

62 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – In the background (#1)

    • Thank you, the first one looks as though I took it into the tram but I was sat on the tram and caught the reflections from both windows as well as what was going on outside. It was what I could see but I honestly didn’t think the camera would pick it up, I was so pleased when I saw it had. 🙂

      • I know what you mean. I’ve gotten some shots I love completely by accident. The nice thing about digital is you can snap all you want, see them right away and get rid of what you don’t like.

      • True haha. It was what I wanted to take but I couldn’t quite believe that the camera actually saw it with me. One of my fav’s recently I think.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: in the Background (A View) | What's (in) the picture?

    • Thank you very much. I try not to post older ones but I was laid up with flu this week and had chance to go through some old stuff, it was nice to have the time to sit and go back, it has given me some new ideas. 🙂

  2. Truly stunning images Jo, I could have hit the like button many times. And thank you for stopping by my blog.

  3. Jo these are simply fantastic! My favorite are the blurred bus and the 30 second exposure with the shadow. They’re simply beautiful.

    • Thank you so much, the bus was a tram which is my most favorite mode of transport living here, I took that one from inside the tram and I do love that one because I have the reflections from both windows and both outside the windows. You know when you see something and then want to capture it but you are not sure if you can. I sat and set the camera and had to wait for it to appear again in the different light not knowing if it would… that huge excitement lol. I was giddy with that when I got it. Also the long exposure, again another of my favorites. You can capture such special things. I want to do more of them soon.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | 2812 photography

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In The Background | Endless Skys

  6. Pingback: #WPC: In The Background | Far Away

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 1 – The cupboard | Bastet and Sekhmet

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Marks and Spencer) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Next) | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 2 – Lido Café | Bastet and Sekhmet

  11. Enjoying these ‘older’ photos – the first one in the tram reminds me of some of the wonderful photos I used to see in photo yearbooks in the library back when I was a teenager – a wonderful shot blending the inside and outside worlds in a dreamlike way.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 3 – The Bakery Shop (27 May, 2013) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Power) | What's (in) the picture?

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Pilot Fish

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 4 – The Coop (27 May 2013) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  16. Pingback: The Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 4 – The skier | Bastet and Sekhmet

  17. Pingback: WPC background | What's (in) the picture?

  18. Stunning photography. Just wanted to stop by and say “thanks” for visiting my blog. I am glad you did so that I can now continue to be inspired by your amazing talent.

    • That really is too kind, I always feel like I have something new to learn and I am constantly blown away by photographs across WordPress. Your’s are lovely and I am looking forward to getting the chance to have a good look through your blog. 🙂

  19. Wow, Jo, these are really great. The first two are so unique. I really had to study the first one. Your talent goes way beyond clicking and taking a picture! 🙂

      • I am a photographer by profession but the ones in here are my hobby photographs where I tend to try out new techniques until I get it right. I am always on the hunt for a new way to shoot, different lights, subjects etc. Learning new things about photography never really ends and most of the stuff I have done has been trial and error ha! I do a lot of experimental stuff. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t lol. Really I am easily bored which stops me from getting stuck in a rut of the ‘same old, same old’. I don’t do training only because I don’t have the time at the moment but maybe in the future when I am ready I will look into that. 🙂

      • Not always but thank you 🙂 I still see other peoples stuff everyday and think.. wow, wish I had done that lol x

  20. Pingback: The Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 5 – The skier | Through the Eye of Bastet

  21. Pingback: An Irish General… and me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Wanna Chat? I know I do..

